Béjot vins & terroirs

FR EN

Moillard

Since 1850, when Symphorien Moillard created the Maison Moillard winery, the tradition of growing the best grapes and making the finest wines has been maintained. Continue reading

  • History Ouvrir

    The Moillard family has been cultivating vines in Nuits-Saint-Georges since the French Revolution. The arrival of the railway in Nuits-Saint-Georges opened up new commercial opportunities and the Maison Moillard began its activity as wine merchants in 1850.

    In 1870, Symphorien Moillard’s son died while serving with the French Army in Algeria. His sister, Jeanne Moillard, took over the family trade and continued the tradition of the Maison Moillard.

    In 1873, she married Maurice Thomas, himself an owner of Burgundy vineyards.

    From generation to generation, the Thomas family extended the properties, buying up precious plots and developing the trade.

    In 2008, Vincent Sauvestre succeeded the Thomas family in running the Maison Moillard and perpetuating its prestigious reputation as one of the finest winemakers in Burgundy.

  • Know-how Ouvrir
    image01

    In 2009, a new winery was built. Its state-of-the-art facilities have been designed to carry on making the fine wine of the Côte de Nuits terroir, combining the know-how of the Maison Moillard with the precision of ultra-modern equipment.

    Equipped with small open vats, the winery has been conceived to respect the integral quality of the grapes. After a very selective sorting phase, the healthiest grapes are taken in small tubs to the vats, avoiding any pumping of the precious juices. In keeping with the traditions of the Côte de Nuits, the vatting is allowed to last a long time.

    The objective is to produce elegant and powerful wines that will age well and that can be appreciated at any time.

    The wines are put into oak casks by using gravity and stored in the very old vaulted cellars of the property, which house over 1,000 barrels. They are carefully monitored by our oenologists throughout the ageing process, which lasts 14 to 20 months. The wines develop their complexity during this time and reveal all the qualities of the terroir.

  • Tasting Ouvrir
    image01

    By leaving the wines in vats and barrels for a long time and limiting human intervention during this crucial period, the wines of the Maison Moillard develop the full range of their taste, expressing the quality of the terroir and highlighting the distinctive character of each small parcel (les climats as they are known in Burgundy) of the Côte de Nuits.

    This is why Moillard wines offer the entire palette of the region’s greatest appellations: the delicate flavours and textures of Chambolle-Musigny with its floral bouquets of violets, full-bodied Gevrey-Chambertin which bring out the blackberry tastes of the region’s other great fruit and the Vosne-Romanée which offers its great complexity and harmonious structure.

    The different wines of the Nuits-Saint-Georges propose a wide range of tastes and styles.

    The Premiers Crus, “Les Saint Georges”, is particularly powerful and elegant. Its aromas are a unique and surprising blend of spices and Morello cherries and the taste is long-lasting and incredibly precise.

    Wine lovers often say that they should be classed as Grands Crus, testifying to their finesse and distinction!

Béjot vins & terroirs

FR EN

Moillard

Depuis 1850, date de sa création par Symphorien Moillard, la Maison Moillard accomplit un long travail de vinification et d’élevage qui amène les vins à leur épanouissement Continue reading

  • Histoire Ouvrir

    La Famille Moillard  cultive la vigne à Nuits-Saint-Georges depuis la Révolution Française. Mais c’est véritablement l’arrivée du chemin de fer à Nuits-Saint-Georges et les opportunités commerciales que cela engendre dès lors qui sont à l’origine de la fondation de la Maison Moillard en qualité de marchand de vin, en 1850.

    Lorsqu’en 1870, le fils de Symphorien Moillard décède lors de son service militaire en Algérie, sa sœur, Jeanne Moillard, hérite alors de la Maison familiale et de son activité.
    En 1873, elle épouse Maurice Thomas, également propriétaire de vignobles en Bourgogne.
    De génération en génération, la famille Thomas enrichit le Domaine de prestigieuses parcelles tout en développant l’activité Négoce.

    C’est en 2008 que Vincent Sauvestre succède à la famille Thomas dans la gestion de cette Maison si renommée pour la qualité de ses vins.

  • Savoir-faire Ouvrir
    image01

    Avec pour volonté d’allier le respect du savoir-faire Moillard à l’utilisation d’équipements ultra modernes, , une nouvelle cuverie est conçue en 2009 afin de recevoir et vinifier les raisins récoltés sur les plus grands terroirs de la Côte de Nuits.

    Equipé de petites cuves ouvertes, ce site de vinification a été pensé pour respecter l’intégrité des raisins. Après un tri sévère, les plus belles baies sont acheminées dans des petits bacs vers les cuves afin d’éviter tout pompage de cette matière première si précieuse. Dans le respect de la tradition nuitonne, les cuvaisons sont longues.
    L’objectif est l’obtention de vins à la fois élégants et puissants, capables de vieillir et d’être appréciés tout au long de leur vieillissement.

    L’entonnage des vins se fait par gravité dans l’ancienne cave voutée du site : plus de 1000 fûts y sont alignés. Ils  sont  suivis par nos œnologues tout au long de l’élevage, qui dure entre 14 et 20 mois. Les vins acquièrent alors toute leur complexité  et expriment le meilleur du terroir dont ils sont issus.

  • Dégustation Ouvrir
    image01

    En privilégiant de longues cuvaisons pendant lesquelles les interventions humaines sont limitées, le savoir-faire Moillard joue la carte de l’expression des terroirs et la mise en avant des climats si représentatifs de la Côte de Nuits.

    Pas étonnant alors de retrouver ces caractères organoleptiques qui font la réputation de ses plus belles appellations : des Chambolle-Musigny tout en délicatesse qui s’ouvrent doucement sur des arômes floraux telle la violette, des Gevrey-Chambertin profonds dont les notes fruitées rappellent les fameux cassis de la région, ou encore des Vosne-Romanée à la riche complexité aromatique et structurelle….

    Et que dire de l’incroyable  palette que nous offre Nuits-Saint-Georges ?
    Les Premiers Crus « Les Saint Georges », notamment, se caractérisent par leur élégance et leur puissance. On découvre, au nez, une expression déroutante mêlant les épices et la griotte, et en bouche, une longueur et une précision déconcertantes.

    De l’avis de nombreux amateurs, ils auraient mérité d’être classés Grand Cru. C’est dire leur grande distinction !