Béjot vins & terroirs

FR EN

BEJOT vins & terroirs works on 520ha of vineyards every day. We are firmly convinced that the quality of the grapes we harvest is essential in producing quality wines. Continue reading

cave Béjot

  • From the vine to the wine Ouvrir

    Complementing the production of our own properties, BEJOT vins & terroirs has established longstanding partnerships with vineyard owners who provide us with grapes that comply with clear specifications, closely monitored by our oenologists. Only the best grape growers and plots are selected for our wines.

    When the grape is ripe and almost ready for harvesting, our oenologists visit the vineyards to make sure the fruit is picked at the right moment. The essential balance between acidity and the right levels of sugar must be perfect and the plants have to be perfectly healthy and clean.

    Grapes are harvested by hand, with the greatest of care, selected by trained pickers and delicately placed in pierced cases, which are then taken quickly to be pressed, thus preserving all the features of the fruit.

    The winemaking facilities are located near the vineyards. In Burgundy, we have designed and set up five winemaking rooms in Chablis, Nuits-Saint-Georges, Bévy, Meursault and Davayé. All these winemaking facilities are equipped with state-of-the-art equipment. We apply traditional winemaking methods, using ultra-modern tools: vats on several levels to facilitate the gravitational transfer of wines, careful weighing of grapes to ensure traceability, use of temperature-controlled stainless steel vats, pneumatic crushers (or pigeurs) that move above the vats, fully automated pneumatic presses, etc.

  • The making of red wines Ouvrir

    The best grape bunches are carefully selected on our sorting tables and are stripped so that only the grapes are taken to the vats. Traditionally, grapes are pressed for the appellations of the Côte de Beaune while they are left intact for the fermentation of the Côte de Nuits.

    All our vats have been designed to limit the handling and damaging of our grapes: once the grapes are taken off their bunches, they are taken to the fermentation vats in small tubs.

    Our oenologists can then begin to apply their winemaking skills and capture the essence of the amazingly rich terroirs of Burgundy.

    Our winemakers work with our ultra-modern equipment, allowing them to carefully control the temperatures, to carry out the cap punching (or pigeage) and pumping out of the vats, which are essential to increase phenolic quality (colour and structure) and to monitor the alcohol fermentation process, while ensuring that the cellars remain spotless and safe.

    The amount of time for macerating the grapes varies according to the vintage and the appellations, lasting from a fortnight to a month.

    Emptying the vats means separating the liquid free-run wine and the grape residues which are then pressed to produce the press wine. The free-run wine is characteristically fruity and elegantly light, while the press wine is structured and deeper in taste. The assembly of the two types of wines is the key to obtaining a subtle and complex balance between the fruitiness of the former and the strength of the latter.

    These young wines are then put into French oak casks: we have a supply of 4,000 barrels in our different cellars. Choosing the casks is also a subtle process. Oenologists decide on the provenance, the technique used for firing the barrels and the percentage of new casks to be used, so that the ageing can reveal the full complexity of the grapes.

    Every week, the wines are examined and tasted by the winemakers, to allow the wine to open up and blossom and to limit the need for adjustment by oenologists at the end of the process.

  • The making of white wines Ouvrir

    Entire grape bunches are deposited in our pneumatic presses and are delicately and slowly squeezed to avoid oxidation of the juice.

    The settling stage is crucial. The juice is left to lie at a low temperature for 24 to 48 hours to allow the solid particles which emerge during the pressing to sink to the bottom of the vat. After having settled, the wine should be clear, but should still have some fine particles left, an essential ingredient for proper fermentation.

    Depending on the appellation, the grape musts ferment in temperature-controlled stainless steel vats (Chablis, Mâcon) or in vats made of other materials, but all are selected as carefully as those used for the making of red wines. Fermentation in vats is an indispensable stage for the great Burgundy white wines to ensure that all their complexity and finesse emerges.

    Fermentation is monitored for its density: as the sugar changes into alcohol, density goes down. Fermentation can take several months, in particular for the great appellations.

    Ageing on the fine lees in the vats lasts between six months and a year. The wines are then put into barrels for six to 10 months, depending on the vintages, the appellations and on the evolution of the wine. This requires systematic weekly monitoring, which also determines the frequency at which the lees are mixed (batonnage), an age-old technique which involves putting the fine lees back into the wine to enable it to absorb the aromatic complexity of the grape and develop length in the finishing taste.

    The racking (soutirage) of the wines is done before it is bottled, in the finest tradition of Burgundy winemaking, by using gravity to limit pumping and preserve the taste qualities of the wines.

Béjot vins & terroirs

FR EN

BEJOT vins & terroirs travaille quotidiennement 530 ha de vignes en propriété ou exploitation. Nous sommes en effet convaincus que c’est de la qualité du raisin récolté que dépend la qualité des vins que nous élaborons. Continue reading

 

cave Béjot

 

  • De la vigne au vin Ouvrir

    En complément de notre approvisionnement Domaines, des partenariats de longue date sont établis avec des viticulteurs qui produisent pour notre Maison des raisins selon un cahier des charges rigoureux et contrôlé par nos œnologues. Les plus belles parcelles et les meilleurs vignerons sont sélectionnés.

    La maturité des raisins approchant, les contrôles dans les vignes par nos œnologues se renforcent afin d’ajuster au mieux la date de la récolte. Le précieux équilibre entre acidité et concentration en sucre doit être parfait et l’état sanitaire irréprochable.

    Les baies sont récoltées manuellement avec le plus grand soin : elles sont sélectionnées par des vendangeurs formés et déposées délicatement dans des caisses percées. Ces caisses sont alors rapidement transportées dans les cuveries afin de préserver l’intégrité du fruit.

    Les cuveries de vinification sont situées à proximité des vignes. En Bourgogne, nous avons conçu cinq sites de vinification : Chablis, Nuits-Saint-Georges, Bévy, Meursault et Davayé. Toutes ces cuveries sont équipées de matériel de dernière génération. Nos méthodes de vinification traditionnelles s’appuient sur la modernité de nos outils : cuveries conçues sur plusieurs niveaux pour faciliter les transferts des vins en utilisant la gravité, pesée des raisins pour assurer un parfaite traçabilité, cuves en inox thermorégulées, pigeur pneumatique se déplaçant au dessus des cuves, pressoirs pneumatiques entièrement automatisés…

  • Vinification des vins rouges Ouvrir

    Les plus belles grappes sont méticuleusement sélectionnées sur nos tables de tri avant d’être éraflées pour ne garder que les baies. Selon la tradition, ces baies vont être foulées pour les appellations de la Côte de Beaune alors qu’elles seront laissées intactes au moment de l’encuvage en Côte de Nuits.

    Toutes nos cuveries sont pensées pour limiter la manipulation et la trituration de nos raisins : après égrappage, les baies sont transportées vers les cuves de vinification dans de petits bacs.

    Nos œnologues peuvent alors commencer leur mission de vinification et capter le message des terroirs si riches qui constituent la Bourgogne.

    Pour ce faire, ils peuvent s’appuyer sur des équipements ultra-modernes qui leur permettent de contrôler les températures, de réaliser les pigeages et remontages indispensables pour l’extraction des composés phénoliques, de suivre l’avancée des fermentations alcooliques, et d’assurer une hygiène parfaite de la cave.

    La durée des macérations est variable en fonction des millésimes et des appellations : entre 15 jours et 1 mois.

    Le décuvage consiste alors à séparer la phase liquide qui constitue le vin de goutte et les résidus de raisins qui sont pressés et qui constituent le vin de presse. Le vin de goutte se démarque par son fruité et son élégance tandis que le second, le vin de presse, se caractérise par une structure plus soutenue. L’assemblage des deux permet l’obtention de vins à la fois puissants, fruités et complexes.

    Ces jeunes vins sont alors entonnés dans des fûts de chêne français : notre parc est constitué de 4000 fûts répartis dans nos différentes caves. Un travail complexe est réalisé dans le choix des fûts : la provenance, le type de chauffe, le pourcentage de fûts neufs sont autant de critères que les œnologues doivent prendre en compte afin que l’élevage joue pleinement son rôle de révélateur de complexité.

    Toutes les semaines ces vins seront suivis et dégustés par les œnologues : ces contrôles réguliers permettent de limiter les interventions œnologiques et de laisser le vin s’épanouir.

  • Vinification des vins blancs Ouvrir

    Les raisins sont déposés en grappes entières dans nos pressoirs pneumatiques où ils vont être délicatement pressés : le pressurage doit se faire lentement pour que les jus ne s’oxydent pas.

    L’étape du débourbage est cruciale : elle consiste à laisser les jus à basse température pendant 24 à 48 heures afin que les particules solides issues du pressurage se déposent au fond de la cuve. En sortie de débourbage, les jus doivent être clairs sans pour autant être déchargés de leurs fines particules, si précieuses à leur fermentiscibilité.

    En fonction des appellations, les moûts fermentent en cuves inox thermorégulées (Chablis, Macon) ou en fûts dont la sélection est toute aussi sévère que pour l’élevage des vins rouges. La fermentation en fûts des grands vins blancs bourguignons est indispensable pour l’obtention de cette complexité et finesse tant recherchées.

    Le suivi de la fermentation se fait en contrôlant l’évolution de la densité : au fur et à mesure que le sucre se transforme en alcool, la densité baisse. La durée des fermentations peut atteindre parfois plusieurs mois, en particulier sur les grandes appellations.

    L’élevage sur lies fines en cuves dure entre 6 et 10 mois. En fûts, les vins sont élevés entre 10 et 16 mois en fonction des appellations, des millésimes et de l’évolution des vins. Ceci implique des suivis hebdomadaires rigoureux qui permettent par ailleurs de déterminer la fréquence des bâtonnages, technique ancestrale qui consiste à remettre en suspension les lies fines dans le vin pour apporter de la complexité aromatique et de la longueur en bouche.

    Le soutirage des vins avant la mise en bouteille se fait dans le respect de la tradition bourguignonne en utilisant la gravité pour limiter les pompages et préserver ainsi les qualités organoleptiques de nos vins.