Béjot vins & terroirs

FR EN

Meanwhile in the vineyards …

The birds begin to sing, the sap starts to flow, the soft sunlight caresses our faces still numb with cold … There is no doubt that spring is installed in the Burgundian air!

What could be better in this springtime month of April to look a little closer at our dear vineyards?

To ensure that they can offer us the best grapes, our wine growers are busy working hard in the vineyards.

In April, it is the time to bend the young branches horizontally and attach them to the wires (1).  It is also time to replace the vines if necessary, and to plow the plots to achieve the delicate balance between the vineyard and the surrounding vegetation.

Adorned with the color green and brownish hues, the Burgundian vineyards begin to reveal their beauty. If we follow our curiosity and move closer towards the vine, we can see that it is in its phase called “bud burst(2). The green tips (3) are expected to burst in the coming weeks.

What can we say about the 2016 weather conditions?

Until now, the 2016 vintage has experienced fairly traditional weather. Autumn and early winter were marked by a mild drought, largely resolved by heavy rains at the end of the winter period.

Regarding pests and diseases that can weaken the vineyards, our winemakers remain vigilant because the threat of mildew (4) is high.  If the threat was to develop, our vineyard managers would treat the vines from the opening of the first buds between late April and early May.

If one is interested in our vineyards in the South of France (Provence, Languedoc-Roussillon, Rhone Valley), we can see that the vine is at a more advanced stage than in Burgundy. Indeed, we can already observe some leaves unfolding (5) and the first appearance of grape clusters.

 

Bending the young branches (1)

Eclatement du bourgeon

Bud burst (2)

pointe verte

green tip (3)

(4) Mildew is a disease which is charaterized by the appearance of brown stains on the leaves and a withering of these then.

feuilles étalées

Leaves unfolding (5)

Back

Béjot vins & terroirs

FR EN

Et pendant ce temps dans les vignes…

Les oiseaux recommencent à chanter, la sève à circuler, les doux rayons du soleil à caresser nos visages encore engourdis par le froid… Cela ne fait aucun doute : le printemps s’est bien installé en terre bourguignonne !

Quoi de mieux alors, en ce mois d’avril printanier, que de nous intéresser d’un peu plus près à notre si cher vignoble.

Afin de nous offrir les plus beaux raisins, nos vignerons s’affairent et travaillent d’arrache-pied dans les vignes.

Au mois d’avril, l’heure est à courber les baguettes de manière horizontale afin de les attacher aux fils porteurs (1). Il est également temps de remplacer les pieds de vigne, si nécessaire, ainsi que de labourer les parcelles pour atteindre ce délicat équilibre entre la vigne et la végétation environnante.

Paré d’une robe verte aux nuances brunâtres, le vignoble bourguignon commence à dévoiler toute sa beauté. Si l’on se laisse gagner par notre curiosité et que l’on s’approche au plus près de la vigne, on peut observer que celle-ci est dans sa phase dite d’« éclatement du bourgeon » (2). Les pointes vertes (3), quant à elles, se font encore désirer, et devraient éclore dans les semaines à venir.

Que peut-on dire à propos des conditions climatiques de 2016 ?

Jusqu’alors, le millésime 2016 a connu une météo assez classique dans l’ensemble. L’automne et le début de l’hiver ont été marqués par une légère sécheresse, largement résolue par des pluies importantes à la fin de la période hivernale.

En ce qui concerne les maladies parasites qui peuvent affaiblir le vignoble, nos vignerons restent vigilants car la pression du Mildiou (4) se fait importante. S’il venait à se développer, nos chefs de culture se chargeraient de traiter la vigne dès l’étalement des premières feuilles, à savoir entre fin avril et début mai.

Si l’on s’intéresse à nos vignobles du sud de la France (Provence, Languedoc-Roussillon, Vallée du Rhône), on s’aperçoit que la vigne est à un stade plus avancé qu’en Bourgogne. En effet, on peut déjà observer quelques feuilles étalées (5) ainsi que l’apparition des premières grappes.

 

 

Attachage des baguettes (1)

Eclatement du bourgeon

Eclatement du bourgeon (2)

pointe verte

pointe verte (3)

(4) Le Mildiou est une maladie qui se caractérise par l’apparition de tâches brunes sur les feuilles, suivie d’un flétrissement de celles-ci.

feuilles étalées

Etalement des feuilles (5)

Retour à la liste